Henry E Ford, one of the founder members of the Middlesex Wanderers was President of the club from 1940 to 1958.

After his death his widow and family requested that a trophy should be awarded in his name to any member of the club which in the view of the judging panel made the most outstanding contribution to the club in the previous year.

The award, “The Wanderer of the Year” has been given each year since 1964.